About EIRB

As an integral part of the co-management system established under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA) the Environmental Impact Review Board (EIRB) conducts environmental impact reviews for proposed developments in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region that have the potential for significant negative environmental impact.

The EIRB is composed of seven members. Three are appointed by the Government of Canada and three members are appointed by the Inuvialuit Game Council. Of the members appointed by the Government of Canada, one each is nominated by the federal government, the Yukon Government and the Government of the Northwest Territories. The Chair is selected by the Government of Canada with the consent of the Inuvialuit.